Understanding Land Tenure System In Nigeria

The land tenure system in Nigeria is giving an individual a legal right to own a parcel of land and the resources on or in the land. The land tenure system defines who uses the land and its resources for a particular length of time, and under certain conditions.

Every society varies with their system of property rights, these rules changes over time. The tenure system of land can be based on official policies or informal customs. When these rules overlap, confusion starts to set in.

The land itself can be seen as a tool for economic development because it is used for agriculture and tourism. The land tenure system differs in ethnicity, gender, and political affiliation.

Different Forms Of Land Tenure Systems In Nigeria

The following are the different forms of land tenure systems in Nigeria;

  1. Communal land tenure system: in this form of land tenure system, the community is seen as the owner of the land. Usually, the head of the community determines how the land is distributed among natives. Don’t forget that such lands are mainly used for agricultural purposes. A major disadvantage of this type of system is that such lands cannot be used for residential purposes even though all the community members have a right to ownership of the land.
  2. Freehold tenure system: This land tenure system involves a group of individuals paying a certain amount of money to secure a parcel of land. Such land can serve as collateral to secure loans from banks unlike the communal system of land ownership.                               Also read: Legal right of a tenant and a landlord in Nigeria
  3. Leasehold tenure system: This is having ownership of land over a particular period of time. In this situation, the real owner is the landlord by the temporal owner is the tenant. Such lands are only available for crop rotation. Also, the tenant can not use the land to secure a loan from a financial institution because he owns the land for a limited time.
  4. Gift Tenure System; As the name implies, this form of tenure system is when the landowner willing to transfer the right of ownership to another person. However, such lands can be used as collateral to secure loans. The landowner can revoke ownership of such land by a court.
  5. Inheritance Tenure system: In this system, a person inherits the land after the main owner of the land is dead. Usually, the next of kin that is the children assume the new owner of the land. As a result of gender bias in the society, women are not enlisted as a beneficiary. In addition, such land can result in disputes among beneficiaries or family members.

In Conclusion

Now that you are aware of the different land tenure systems available in Nigeria. You can also become a proud owner of land in a developed area of Lagos.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *